xuyeens

Live with passion!

Going by bus

Leave a comment

I don’t like the stressful feeling when driving motorbikes. I don’t want to scramble for a space in traffic jam. More importantly, I myself can’t afford to buy a motorbike. Therefore, I choose to go by bus. I usually spend at least two hours a day on buses for movement. Because of this, I experience a lot of bus “services”, meet a lot of people and encounter a lot of situations. Here are something that refines my character when I go by bus.

First, patient. Buses really challenge my patience. Sometimes, they start off earlier than their schedule. Sometimes, they start late. As a result, I arrive either late or early. I rarely get my destination in time. Especially in rush hours, it may take one hour for me to wait for a bus and at least 30 minutes for the bus to get out of the traffic jam. What can I do to kill time? I do something like listening to music, browsing the web or take this time for granted to watch street and sidewalks.

Second, calm. Sometimes, I have waited buses for hours but the bus driver may ignore some bus stops even when the bus has not been full of passengers.  I can’t get in it and have to keep on waiting for the next bus, of course. This pisses me off. Some waiters can’t resist their angry expression and burst into curse words. What can I do in this case? Make a call to Hotline to complain about this? I haven’t tried this because I am not sure my requirement can work.

Third, careful. There are a lot of pick-pockets who are just waiting passengers’ careless to steal. I must be on my toes if I don’t want my phone or money to disappear by chance. I still wonder what makes them become stealers? …

Above all, expect the unexpected. I may have to wait bus for hours. The ticketseller may be impolite with me. The bus may be full of passengers and become too crowded. It may not be in good condition. It may be old, dirty and noisy. When the engine is on, I can hear the sound released by collision of bus equipment like chairs, bars or windows. That’s it. Accept it and go with the flow. However, I just think why the bus system here is so bad? We are too poor? I think the facility may not be improved right now but the attitude of people including bus driver, ticketseller or even passengers should be changed to have a better bus service.

Anyway, I still like the feeling of being comfortable when I get in bus and enjoy the song on the bus radio, especially in the evening when I come home from work. At that time, just a few passengers are on the bus. I don’t have to think how to drive carefully like people using motorbike. Just watch streets and enjoy the song at night. Peaceful…

Leave a Reply

